Something closely resembling art

 

I have made something closely resembling art.

The original.

The original.

One of the wonders of working your way towards a liberal arts degree is the necessity of taking classes outside of your specialty area. This means that this semester I am taking a fine arts course in print making. Now it may be a fine arts class, but please don’t assume that this means that I am producing professional level projects, but I have produced something closely resembling art.

While I am best at consuming art, I have also been known to tinker in photography. When asked to create an original idea for my first print I turned to the picture above for my inspiration. While I am less than satisfied with what I have produced (it is the perfectionist in me) I promised to share as I process my experiences. The below print is, I hope a bit of what I loved about Mallorca: Castellano, Catalan and Arabic traditions.

Taken in Spain. Written in Catalan. Arab Bath.

Taken in Spain. Written in Catalan. Arab Bath.

 

