A Mini Adventure on I-35

I was hoping to also get to see the world largest frying pan, but that stop was, as always, closed.

I was hoping to also get to see the world largest frying pan, but that stop was, as always, closed.

Here is something you should know about me. I don’t really like driving. In fact I will often avoid it at all costs (unless groceries are involved). However a part of my life is still in Minnesota and I make the drive to the Twin Cities every month or two. The five hours alone in my car can stretch out into what feels like a loophole in time, a place where one goes nowhere no matter how fast they move. And if you feel like I am being mellow dramatic now, you should talk to me as I roll into hour four alone in my car.

This bitching and moaning (pardon my French) does not get me very far. Really it just gets me crabby. So, over the last four years I have tried to come up with ways to make the drive both more bearable and shorter. The biggest thing that helps me is to get off the freeway, even for five minuets and have a mini adventure. Since I am also often traveling during meal times, I take this as an opportunity to eat somewhere I have never seen. When it is cold I often just sit in my car and enjoy a quite country road, but on a beautiful summer afternoon I make the grass my seat and the country my view.

This week amongst the chaos of defending my summer class project, working, checking out the all star game, a morning with my Busia, and helping my roommate move out I found myself doing the endless drive. This time I stopped to try and see a giant pan, which was closed to the public, and enjoyed lunch in my new Tupperware. (Thanks Mom!)

How do you break up long trips?

