Cacti and carry-ons

Glad I didn't bring this one home with me

Glad I didn’t bring this one home with me

Imagine you are carrying something small and fragile, something which you care more than just a little about transporting in one piece. If you tip this thing the wrong way its guts will spill everywhere. It will not die but it will make a dreadful mess. In transporting this something you are required to sit up and down often, in a space designed for someone at least a foot shorter than you; you are not allowed to set down your cargo. At the same time that you are carrying your precious cargo it is trying to snag the bag its in and, when you are paying the least attention, snag you with its little sharp arms.

This. This is what carrying cacti as your carry on is like.

So many cacti, so many options

So many cacti, so many options

I should have listened to the cacti gardener (yes that is a real job) told me to take them out of their pots to bring them home, but I was too concerend about keeping his special blend of soil in tact. So, I carried my cacti as on of my carry ons.Through two flights and two long lay overs  (I had to wait a very long time to get on my first flight) these little guys persevered, even if they are a little lighter on the soil side due to some transportation mishaps.

Our collection of cacti and adopted cacti. The ones in square containers survived the flight from Tuscon.

Our collection of cacti and adopted cacti. The ones in square containers survived the flight from Tuscon.

How do you handle tricky carry-ons?

