Fair Food Finds

Photo fotography by another out of state visitor.

Food photography by another out of state visitor.

Greasy foods, heads made of butter, cows, chickens, ducks, people packed on car-less streets 1/3 pale and pasty, 1/3 farmer tans, 1/3 undefined. This crossroads of humanity, of my state, and of tastes on a stick has always been a favorite of mine. The Minnesota state fair is the greatest ten-day festival in the world and I would challenge anyone who says differently to a duel (well at least a duel of words).

Since I have moved to Iowa I have not always been able to make the five-hour drive to Minnesota. (Actually as I think about it I only missed it my freshman year, but that is really not relevant for this post.) I don’t know if I will have time to make it to the fair this year, but I did get to head out to the Iowa State fair a few weekends ago with my dad.

The Iowa State Fair did not feel the same, as cool, as varied… as Minnesotan, but I was still able to eat my way around the fairgrounds.

Fair Food Frenzy

IMG_1184

‘Mexican Corn’

Mexican Grilled Corn

Grilled corn was always a favorite when I was a kid. In Minnesota the dip it in vats of butter and sprinkle it in salt. I was therefore excited when I saw Mexican grilled corn. I love the spicy addition of chipotle to corn, but this corn failed to deliver. Perhaps Iowa’s palate is just not ready to join that party, but I was ready to dance. Overall the corn was OK.

Deep Fried Mac 'n Cheese

Deep Fried Mac ‘n Cheese

Deep Fried Mac ‘n Cheese

On the off-chance I make it to the fair when I am home next weekend, I decided to save my cheese curds experience, and tried something new. These gems were creamy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. Only complaint, they ended. Overall very good.

Iowa State Fair, Des Moines, IADeep Fried Snickers

Not my favorite after the first bite, but a must have for the first time attendee with us. This desert is melty, sweet, and all kinds of rich. If you can eat a whole one you are better than me. Overall a one time try.

What are your favorite fair foods? What fair foods could you skip? What is your favorite strange local tradition in the summer?

