Small Program; Big Adventure: Hiking with CIEE

One side is Mountains on side beach. CIEE helped us find some great beaches during our first month on the island, but I was most struck by the other side of the island, the one covered in mountains. It was amazing! So, without further ado, my top three trips with CIEE.

Formentor: My first cliff views

The northern edge of Mallorca is green and sparse. Green vegetation caps gray stone cliffs, which plummet into the blue, blue sea. On our way out to a lighthouse we never got to (we spent too much time at the beach!) we stopped at an “overlook.” I don’t know whether to put  that in quotations because where you stop is nowhere near the overlook point or because the word overlook does not seem to do the location justice.

Formentor, Mallorca

After walking for about half a mile along pathed paths, you wind your way along the cliff face (if you are afraid of heights this might not be for you) until we got to the final look out point.

I have no words. Only this…

 

How would you describe this view?

How would you describe this view?

 Game of Thrones or Spain?

We were lucky enough to get to go on a few excursions with just our local student leaders, especially David (one cool cat). One day, in the midst of all five members of the program reading devouring the Game of Thrones series we headed off to a monastery on a cliff side. Much contemplation of life, literature and the varied uses of apples commenced.

Heading toward the hills

Heading toward the hills

The whole trip there took about an hour each way, but was very easy walking. I wish I could tell you which town we left from or what the cloister was called, but time has erased that from my memory.

 

We did take a group picture when we got there though

We did take a group picture when we got there though

On a scale of one to crazy, how much does this look like a Game of Thrones set?

On a scale of one to crazy, how much does this look like a Game of Thrones set?

And as always there were amazing views

And as always there were amazing views

The overnight led the way

Our longest hiking trip was an overnight to a lighthouse. How cool is that? Well perhaps if I was a lighter sleeper the light coming in all night would have been a problem, but I digress.

Let me begin at the beginning.

384369_3901388985442_1112443042_n

We headed out of port de soller (somewhere you should visit regardless), skipping over the beach and heading straight out-of-town. We started out with our little group, two local students, and one of our program organizers, Susan. The moderate hiking soon took Susan out and she returned to the town, promising to meet us at the lighthouse.

On the way we found big rocks to climb, horses to befriend, and plenty of laughs.

Saying hello to the locals

Saying hello to the locals

The 100% best thing about hiking to the light house outside of Port de Soller (was not that it was only 10 euros a person with dinner) but the sunset over the ocean, followed by games with my fellow students, before lights out at ten. I am a huge sucker for early nights.

292718_3901394585582_522376628_nThe next day we were off for about five hours of hiking. We went up one side of a mountain and down the other just a few times. The walking as not terribly hard because everything was paved, but I began to learn that I was the slowest walker in the bunch. (In that tale of the tortoise and the hare I am always the tortoise, but I always get ther) It meant that I was able to enjoy some quiet time alone on the trial, even if part of that time was spent walking in the rain. Can’t always be perfect weather in paradise.

On the island side of the mountain and heading toward home.

On the island side of the mountain and heading toward home.

I didn’t want to drown you with information, just pictures, so there you go. Is there anything you want to know about any of my hiking adventures? Which one would you pick to go on first?

I wish I could do them all again, but for now I am just reminiscing.
Unitl next time,
Keep on walking,
~LU

The rest of dem pictures

*more coming once this computer stops being a butt*

