German Files: The land of 10,000 lakes

You just can’t get there from here is a phrase that gets thrown around a lot in Iowa, especially if you don’t own a car. This state is vast and flat and the farm land stretches on for miles. Iowa can be charming and beautiful, but college town life in Iowa can also make you feel stranded and isolated.

A weekend jaunt (I am using that word loosely) up to Minnesota a month or more ago was amazing. We ate great food and got to discover Minneapolis, and it was the first time I heard Juli admit that living here wouldn’t be so bad.

Perhaps it was the beautiful fall day around Lake Nakomis, the ample number of exclamation worthy cars, or the cute boys fishing under the bridge, but the Twin Cities worked their charm.

Unfortunately for us there are no great (or small) lakes near where we live and the five hour drive to my hometown is too long for a day trip, but it made my heart happy to know that one of my favorite corners of the world wasn’t so bad.

I just hope she loves them just as much when we head back to Minnesota for Christmas and the lakes are white and not blue.

Until next time,
Keep on wandering
~LU

